The roller coaster runs downhill

It doesn’t seem like we put an offer in on our Kauai house less than a month ago. In those 3 weeks our lives have gone from a busy routine schedule – work, socializing, and practice (for me – as I am in a local working classic rock band – in addition to my regular job that actually pays money) to work, packing, signing papers, going to escrow offices, packing boxes, showing the house, band practice etc. etc. etc – you get the idea.

Our initial idea was to play out the string for another three and a half years until we could semi-retire and move to Kauai. But after we returned from our last visit, we started trying to figure out a way to move there ASAP. Three and a half years started to seem like an eternity. So now the job hunt on Kauai begins in addition to all the other chores.

We know that wages will be less on the island than the mainland, but our mortgage will be far less than in California so I think the trade off is easily manged from that perspective. Once I find a job that is. The thing that is mostly holding us back right now is that it takes a minimum of four months to get our cats through the Hawaiian quarantine process. We have just started that process so the earliest they  would be eligible for entry into the state is going to be early October. If I get a job sooner, I will go first and it will be up to B to take care of the final preparations for packing all our junk up and sending it out. Our worst case scenario right now is February of 2015. IF we can stand waiting that long.

Seven days until we move into our transition home. I better get back to packing, donating, and trashing our shrinking amount of stuff….

Tags: , , , , ,

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

