The Decline of my stuff

So I have come to the realization that you don’t just own hings – but they own you a little too. Maybe a lot. They drag you down and make you slow. You worry about them. You don’t want to scratch your new furniture or you are worried about your cats destroying your shiny new thing. When instead you should be enjoying how much fun the cats are having as they run around like tornadoes. Even now I feel these insidious things pull at me as I try to rid myself of them. Our new mantra is do I just WANT it? Or do I really NEED it. The stuff in the ‘WANT’ column needs to go away.

Anyway – we are putting almost everything we own up for sale. Anything that doesn’t sell will be donated to the Salvation Army (I am boycotting Goodwill because they are so picky about what donations they will and won’t take I mean REALLY?). We will be going to Kauai with enough stuff to fit in one u-haul pod container. Anything that doesn’t fit doesn’t go.

My mood has swung between depression at the sheer volume of things that I have acquired and wasted time and money on – and joy at the prospect of shedding them for a simpler and more carefree life.

Kauai awaits! – she is calling me and I am coming.  And soon!!!!

Tags: , , , , ,

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

