The Whys? and Why Nots?

Since we decided to make the big move both my wife and I have run into the inevitable “why” question – “Why do you want to move to Hawaii”. These questions come from friends and family alike – though it seems to be more prevalent coming from family. And my answer is: “Why not?” A better answer perhaps is that 20 years from now I don’t want to look back and say”Man, I wish I had lived in the islands – I wish I had given it a try”.

Every day that goes by is gone forever. You can’t get them back and so I say to you: “Why not?” Why not let go and try something you always wanted to do. Why not go against the grain a little and do things that most other people would think is crazy – or off the reservation or whatever.  Me, I’m going to give it a shot. If it doesn’t work out, at least I know I tried and didn’t spend my time just doing the same old thing while my life slowly drained away. For me, it is time to change, time to slough off my old skin and time to slow down, take the off-ramp from the rat race and watch a lot more sunsets!

Maybe drink a few more frosty tropical drinks.

🙂

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

