The Grind…

So now the waiting game begins. 6 months or so to go before we make the move to Kauai and it seems like forever. We still have plenty to do to get ready. Navigate the rest of the maze that is the animal import quarantine. Sell or donate as much as possible in order to get our belongings down to a manageable level for shipping to Hawaii. The less we have to ship, the cheaper it will be.

For me it still seems a bit unreal. We are going to leave everything we have known for the unknown – we still need to secure employment on the island, but we can’t really take any jobs there until we are ready to move in February or March. I hope to convince my current employer to let me work from home on the island but that is a long shot. Leaving the band will be difficult but I think we have kind of played out the string on that. It is still fun and I will miss the camaraderie of my bandmates but Kauai will be a new adventure.

So I keep playing the videos we took during the last trip and keep staring at pictures of our little Hawaiian house near the sea, and I try to picture how life will be once we get there.

It keeps me going. 🙂

MLSPhoto (12)

The view from the lanai...

The view from the lanai…

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

