136 days to Aloha – An update and thoughts on misconceptions…

So I didn’t realize how our move to Hawaii looks to our family. Being that my step-mother and most of her side of the family have an aversion to travel, it seems they have a bit of a misconception of what I am doing. This was made apparent last weekend when I was at my parent’s house to watch the football game. I had made a comment that since we would be moving to Kauai soon, that we would prefer to receive gift cards from Costco or Home Depot etc.for Xmas rather than things that we would have to move with us. My step-mother looked at me incredulously and asked “They have a Costco on that island?”

I said “Yes, there is a Costco, A Home Depot, a Wal-Mart, and a Macy’s on Kauai. She said “I always picture it as a place that is just jungle and dirt roads.” After I stopped laughing I let her know that there is even ELECTRICITY on the island. I know it sounds crazy but yes phone service exists as well.

So this got me to thinking about how they must view where I will be living vs. how I will ACTUALLY be living. The pictures below show the disconnect.

Where my mom thinks I will be living

Where I will actually be living

Just a little over 4 months to go now and we are both getting antsy to get moved. It is exciting and scary at the same time. We will need to obtain some employment once we get there – I am still hoping I can convince my current employer to let me work remotely from home. We’ve been continuing to reduce and donate our belongings. I think the guy at the Salvation Army store know me by sight now. I’m hoping to get through winter here without having to buy any more clothes since I won’t need anything too warm once me make the jump.

That’s all for now – time to walk off some calories so I can pack them on later for dinner đŸ™‚

Aloha!

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

