Happy Holidays! 102 days to Kauai

Mele Kalikimaka, Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah (a day or so late!) etc.

Only 102 days until our move. It seems like things are really starting to roll now. We have submitted our paperwork for the cats to the Department of Agriculture and contracted with the Kauai Humane Society to meet us at the airport in Lihue to inspect our trio of felines. We now await our permit from the D of A to be officially ready to go.

On the 23rd we had a representative come out to give us a quote on moving whats left of our stuff to Kauai. Talk about sticker shock! Ouch! The price was double what we thought it would be – we are now going to start reducing even more so we can get from a projected 40 foot container to a 20 foot container. Hopefully that will bring the price down to a more reasonable level. On the bright side they actually ship vehicles too at a slightly better price than Matson or Pasha.

I’ve let my manager at work know that I will be moving. I am hoping that he will let me work remotely form the island but I know it’s a long shot. There may be opportunity for consulting with them in lieu of that. I’ve also put in applications with some other companies on the island (including Kauai Coffee Company – hoping for coffee perks LOL)

My wife has also let her supervisor know that she will be leaving and is counting down the days until her final day at work.

So things are really progressing – now to get back to selling, tossing, donating more of our old life so we can start our new one!!!

Aloha and Mahalo for reading!!!!

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

