Holy Crap! – I feel like I’m running downhill!

Less than 3 months now to our migration to Paradise. We are continuing to reduce in order to get all of our stuff in a 20 ft container. To that end we have looked at our photo albums (and all the rest of our material items) with a jaundiced eye. They are large and heavy so I have started the Dave and Barb Photo Reduction Project which is in no way like the Alan Parsons Project.

The photo project consists of me going through all my old photo albums and scanning pictures which mean something to me into jpegs and discarding the rest. As I have gone through this process I have come upon a photographic epiphany of sorts – I find myself keeping 90% of photos with people in them and discarding 80-90% of scenery photos. This is curious to me as most of my photos have always been scenery shots. My takeaway from this is that it is the people you love and the people who love you and have had an impact on you throughout your life that are important. I still love the landscape photography but the important memories involve my friends and family. In the future I am going to make sure that my photographic memories are filled with human beings and love and laughter. Sounds corny but I’m moving to Kauai and I feel like I can do anything now!

There is something terrifying and liberating about leaving behind everything you have known. I am born and raised in Southern California (born in Inglewood – South Central if you will, don’t mess with me – LOL) and grew up in La Palma and San Diego. I’ve never wanted to live anywhere else until I went to Kauai. There is some feeling, some inner pull that keeps drawing me back to that place. I feel I am shedding my old life ( a pretty good life really) and emerging into the life that I was always meant to live. This must be how a butterfly feels as it emerges from its chrysalis.

Early April is the latest that we will still be here in SoCal. We are trying to figure out excuses to go out earlier and I suspect we will figure a way to do it – even if it is only for a week or so get our house prepped for us and the kitties. I can think of worse ways to spend our time…

In the meantime I will be packing, visiting with family as much as possible, playing my last public performance with the band and trying to wrap up my work responsibilities so as not to leave my co-workers in the lurch. And time keeps speeding up.

So, as Mark Twain (or someone, LOL) said:

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

That’s what I’m talking about.

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

