Ok Ok Ok. Here we go!

I just love this quote from Mark Twain – it frequently brings tears to my eyes so I thought I would preface today’s entry with it.

“…I have visited, a great many years ago, the Sandwich Islands-that peaceful land, that beautiful land, that far-off home of profound repose, and soft indolence, and dreamy solitude, where life is one long slumbrous Sabbath, the climate one long delicious summer day, and the good that die experience no change, for they but fall asleep in one heaven and wake up in another.”

– Mark Twain in a speech at the Baseball Dinner, Delmonico’s New York, April 8, 1889

Officially less than two months to go to Kauai! Plus we are taking a trip out a month early to start getting bank accounts, utilities etc. squared away. The time is just flying by now and it seems like we have more stuff to do than we have days to do them.

– The kitties. Yes the kitties have their permits and we’ve been feeding them inside their travel carriers so they get used to being in them. And don’t get me started about the carriers! We thought that we were all set with the 3 carriers that we had but found that two of them only met 15 of the 16 requirements that the airline has for pet travel. These two were missing ‘Original holes for securing the door with tie wraps.’ And no, you can’t drill your own holes (grrr!) I get it, but I don’t like it. So we spent $75 essentially for 8 holes (4 in each of the new carriers. At least we found out BEFORE we got to the airport!!!!!

The last thing for the cats is to get them a final health checkup and anti-flea treatment with 10 days of our arrival in Kauai.

– Jobs. We have both given our notices at work so we are on out way out. I have been working extra hard to try and get all my tasks tied up and finished in such a way that the next person can take them over with a minimum of trouble.

I had a very nice interview for a job on the island. The hours were too much though… 60-70 hours per week and also working holidays and most weekends during the ‘high’ season. I had to withdraw from consideration. After all, why move to the most beautiful place on earth only to be working all the time!? One of the people interviewing me has actually been helping to connect me to other jobs and people on the island – I can’t express how nice that is of him to help me – someone he has only met through a phone interview. The aloha spirit – and really the main reason we are moving to Kauai. Almost everyone we have met are just really genuinely nice people.

– The band… We played out last ‘Big’ gig on January 30th. It was a good gig (aside from one of our vocalists falling and breaking her arm). The show went on and we still had a pretty good performance. The band is starting to audition other guitar players to replace me and want me to be part of the process. I think it is nice of them to want me involved but I’m not sure I would want me there if I were the person auditioning… so a little weird but part of the deal I guess. We have one more fundraiser to do and then will probably play at our going away party and that will be it. We are also trying to record one last album but I don’t know if we will get to it.

– Friends and family. We have a lot of friends and family here in San Diego and it seems like we don’t have enough weekends to see everyone we want to see before we leave. Only 7 more available weekends to go and a lot more people than that to see. We are already exhausted but we are VERY grateful to have so many people who love us and want to see us before we go.

So our new life is calling and we don’t know quite what to expect but we are coming…

Aloha!!!!!!!!

Tags: , , , , ,

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

