The lists

The lists.

Due to our mounting stress at the upcoming move, we have created lists that we track our to-do tasks for our move to Kauai.

List 1 is our list of items that need to be done prior to the actual move. Out of 22 items on this list we have completed 3. There are quite few things that are ‘easy’ and/or we are just waiting for the work week to start so we can wrap them up. Other things range from arranging the timing and shipping of our vehicles to the dissolution of my California LLC to borrowing some items from family and friends to tide us over here for the 3 weeks between the time the movers come to pick our things up and the actual move date.

List 2 is the list of things NOT to be included in the things that the movers will be taking. This includes things like our cable modem and wireless router so that we have SOME form of entertainment while we are waiting to leave – and also allow me to work from home since I will not yet have left my job… The biggest item on this list is our permits for the cats – it would be a BAD THING to have that paperwork packed up!

List 3 is the list of things we need to take with us for the prelim trip in March. This list contains things we need to prep the house – do some exploratory measuring to make sure things we have here will fit into the house. Also our IDs for opening bank accounts etc.

So the lists rule our life at this point – but it won’t be long until we have different lists. And I’m hoping those lists have things like ‘Kayaking’, ‘Paddle boarding’, ‘Hiking’ and ‘Beach Day’  on them. 🙂

In other news, stress levels are on the rise as the impending move is coming up. In a little over 3 weeks this house that we are currently renting will be empty except for a card table, 2 humans, 3 cats and an aero bed. 3 weeks later we will board a plane to our new home…

The view down our street in Kauai :-)

The view down street from our front yard in Kauai. I feel more relaxed already…

I just love this picture. It brings me back to the feel of Poipu beach at sunset.

I just love this picture. It brings me back to the feel of Poipu beach at sunset.

Aloha and Mahalo for reading!

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

