Showers and Sunsets

Poipu Sunset 1

Showers…

Our life this last week or two has been a mixture of showers and sunsets. Here in Kalaheo it rains nearly every night and frequently during the day. We have heard from our neighbors that this usually happens in the winter but that this last winter was unusually dry so they are having a “Late Winter”. The rest of the year it still usually rains overnight but clears during the day.

This is fine with Barb and myself as we come from a bone-dry area known as San Diego County. Don’t get me wrong – we loved San Diego while we lived there, and it is a great place to live – but the fact remains that it just doesn’t rain much there. So for us rain falling from the sky is like manna from heaven.

Poipu Sunset 2

…and Sunsets

A couple of days ago we finally took the short drive to Poipu to catch a nice Kauai sunset. You can judge for yourself from these pictures what it was like. There is something calming about watching the sun disappear over the horizon and to watch the colors paint themselves across the sky as it does so.

On the more mundane side, we are moving forward with our transition to island life. Our cars are both registered, we both have our driver’s licenses. Barb starts her new job in just a couple of weeks and I am busy working from home for 2 different clients. And with all that I still have trouble convincing myself that I live here.

We also had our first mainland visitor – a friend of Barbara’s who is a Kauai-phile like us. He stayed in Kapa’a but we got together for breakfast, lunch, and dinner on 3 different occasions. We are sure there will be many more visitors in the upcoming months and we look forward to seeing them as well.

I think my next post will deal with my take on small town life on a tropical island – once I figure out what I want to write haha.

Aloha and keep a good thought!

Poipu Sunset 3

Tags: , , , , ,

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

