The Aloha Update – 2 and half months living on Kauai

It’s been a while since my last post so I thought an update would be in order. Here’s what’s going on.

Jobs

My two jobs are still going well. Working from home is the bomb although there are challenges. I’m not really having any trouble staying focused and I am able to do everything I need to do. There are times however, when I have to be on a meeting at 5:00 am due to the time differences. I don’t mind being up that early but I need some caffeine in me to function properly so that means I need to be up by 4:00…

Barb has started working at a new job for a company that will remain nameless. Suffice it to say that it is a large home improvement retailer and it’s primary color might be orange. She also has some interest from two schools – one in Waimea and one in Kekaha. We hope that one of those pans out. Stay tuned.

Music

I have just started rehearsing with a band called One Lane Bridge. The guys are laid back and really cool – the music is classic rock on the folksy side. Think The Band, Allman Brothers, Grateful Dead, Bob Dylan, Neil Young – like that. There may be opportunity for some heavier stuff later- Rolling Stones etc. We tentatively have a date to play an acoustic set at Hanapepe Art Walk in July and a couple of other events in August. It’s good to get back into music again and I kind of like the fact that it’s a little less serious now and more focused on having fun. (We only rehearse once a week).

The Garden

We have been planting fruit trees and plants. To date we have planted 7 pineapple, 3 citrus trees(Lime, Tangerine, and Orange) and sprouted 2 Papaya seedlings from seeds out of one of our ‘gift’ papayas. We also have quite a few tropical flowers growing in our yard. Our avocado tree has a lot of fruit that are close to being ready for harvesting.

Here are a few pics…

20150616_024657650_iOS

Heliconia from our yard

20150614_021059195_iOS

Papaya seedling

20150614_020943672_iOS

Pineapple starts

Island Life

I am trying to make sure I get out to the beach for exercise and Aloha at least 3-4 times a week. Usually this means a short drive to Poipu where I will walk for about two miles and then get some water time in. It’s a touristy beach so I try to get there relatively early before it becomes too crowded (but it’s always great there no matter what). The color and clarity of the water always  makes an impression on me. My next step will be to find a second hand boogie board or begin learning to use a stand up paddle board. I live in Hawaii and I think I should take advantage of being so close to warm water beaches 🙂

Poipu

Poipu

Today we will go on a short hike at Keahua Arboretum where they have Rainbow Eucalyptus trees. The bark of these trees are multi colored and supposed to be very beautiful. I will post pictures in a subsequent post here. In order to reduce the benefit of the hike, we will go out to lunch at the Olympic Cafe in Kapa’a afterwards. They have good fish and chips as well as chicken strips and a nice selection of beer.

Hmmm I’m getting hungry already… gotta go!

Aloha and talk to you soon!

Tags: , , ,

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

