I’ve Seen Fire and I’ve Seen Rain…

OK – not that much fire here really. But I liked the way it sounded(Apologies to James Taylor!)

It has been rainy here the last couple of days. This is the detritus of a few tropical depressions that skirted around the islands and only touched us peripherally. Yesterday was hot and HUMID – even the floors felt slick and sticky. Today was rainy in the morning but amazingly temperate and wonderfully mild. The trade-winds are back and the cool breezes are taking over. The sun is breaking through and I can see the ocean from where I am typing. More on that later.

Jobs

I will have to travel to the mainland soon for one of my jobs. I am excited and stressed at the same time. I am excited to see my friends and family but I am also stressed about having to be a 9 to 5’er for a couple of weeks. I will miss Barb because she can’t make this trip this time. I also worry that the people who I am unable to see will feel slighted – especially since I want to make sure I get up to see my parents at LEAST twice while I am back.

On a bright note it will give me a chance to hit Trader Joe’s and stock up on things that we can’t get here. I’m bringing a BIG suitcase to pack goodies into for the return trip!

In my last post I had talked about Barb applying for jobs in Kekaha and Waimea with the school district. Well, she was offered a job at the Waimea school district and it looks like a great opportunity that will afford her that chance to do something completely different AND have a lot of free time to enjoy Kaua’i. It looks like the best of all worlds and we are keeping our fingers crossed that it works out the way we want it to.

Music

Rehearsals continue with One Lane Bridge. I really like the guys I am jamming with and we tried out a drummer a couple of weeks ago. He’s a bit younger than us but into the same stuff and plays LOUD. even though we are concentraing on acoustic sets for August, it looks like we might rock it up in the future. This makes me happy. We are also planning on auditioning a singer from Kapa’a. I will update you when that actually happens. Still, the practices are fun and the guys seem interested in playing some of my original music – which is a big deal to me.

The Garden

Our fruit trees are growing like crazy. The papayas we sprouted from seed a month ago are already about 5 inches tall and growing noticeably every day. We lost two of our pineapples but planted two more and the others appear to be growing nicely. Yesterday we did a lot of clearing of grass and weeds from the front flower bed and we made a lava rock border. Here is a picture.

Our tidied up from planter...

Our tidied up front planter…

The plants there are a combination of Ti, Ginger, and Crotons. We bought a hibiscus today to plant in the far right corner to give it a little more pop.

Here in Kaua’i a lot of people use a plant called Panax as hedges between yards. They are great for privacy but can grow to be 20 feet tall or more. Our neighbors had planted some as a privacy hedge, but it had grown so tall that it obstructed our view of the coast. Fortunately our neighbors are very nice and gave us permission to trim back the hedge. The result is below.

Boom!

Boom! It actually looks even more breathtaking in person!

Island Life

I have been recalcitrant at getting to the beach as much as I should lately but life gets in the way sometimes. We did buy a couple of boogie boards at Costco ($20!) and I am looking forward to trying them out. We have made it out to Kalapaki beach and Lydgate a couple of times but I need to make sure I get my exercise in – because I need to burn some of the junk food calories that I consume (nachos tonight!)

One of the things that strikes me is that when I am driving somewhere – whether it is into ‘town’ (Lihue) or to the beach at Po’ipu – is that the surroundings are breathtaking. The green of the hills and the rise of the mountains. The clouds that wreath the mountains, the trees that are crowned with flowers, all of these things amaze me every time I go for a drive. I hope I never become jaded to the point that I just take this beauty for granted.

It is interesting to me how small-town life is here on the island and that is quite endearing to me. Even though I miss some of the conveniences of the mainland, and am still getting used to the rhythm of life here, I find myself feeling like this might be ‘The Place’. Only time will tell and it it is still early and the island certainly has it’s own stresses to work out… but we shall see!

Well I hope I haven’t bored you too much today.

Aloha and talk to you soon!

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

