10 months on Kauai

So I am sitting here at the airport in Honolulu. I have just returned from another business trip to San Diego and I have a couple of hours before my next hop home so I thought I would throw down some things in the blog. My apologies if the thoughts are broken and the flow is not great – but hey, it’s a blog!

We just passed the 10 month mark on our Kauai adventure and things are going pretty well. We are really settled in now and getting in the island flow. Work has kept me busy traveling back and forth from the mainland and has given me the opportunity to keep in touch with my family and friends in San Diego.

The progress on house projects has continued and we have been pushed forward a bit because we will have our first houseguests at the end of this week: My sister and brother-in-law will be staying with us for a week or so; they arrive this Friday. So the outdoor shower project has gotten some steam behind it. We have the new enclosure up and the retaining wall built and a platform to stand on while showering. The only things remaining are a gate and a privacy overhang. Hopefully we can knock those out this week.

We have also been looking at vacant lots in a development called Kakela Makai and have a couple likely suspects that we may want to buy and build a home on. The main draw are the unobstructed coastal views from those lots. We are excited but this is only in the beginning stages right now so it will be another journey if we can swing it.

Work has been going well – very busy which is good for the bank account but not so good for my beach time LOL. I am very thankful that I have the opportunity to work with good people and to be able to work remotely from paradise.

Ok – I’m not going to let this drag on and get too boring so I will just say aloha for now and will try and post again later this week with some pictures from the shower project and the land that we are looking at.

 

Tags: , ,

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

2 responses to “10 months on Kauai”

  1. ewgreenlee says :

    Aloha Dave! Enjoyed meeting you and Barbara last evening at Julie and Daniel’s home. I’m a blogger too, trying to sell books and share my odd sense of Humor. https://ewgreenlee.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

