June on Kauai

It’s June and I’m late for my monthly blog post. Usually they come out on the 7th since the anniversary of our move to Kauai is April 7th. But I’ve been a little stressed with work and house stuff which has kept me busy and I’ve neglected the blog.

Hawaiian Worof the Day

The Hawaiian word of the day is ‘Kuleana’ (pronounced Koo-lee-ah-na). Kuleana means responsibility for something. Such as “It is my kuleana to make sure the bills get paid on time”. I was first introduced to this word by our realtor, Susie, when we were going through the process of buying our house here. I had a lot of kuleanas!

House Projects

We have gone into “maintenance mode” on our current house since we are going to be selling it to build our new house. It is not officially on the market because we are still in the process of designing the new home. I’ve also been so busy with work that I haven’t wanted to deal with all the kuleanas that come with getting the home staged properly. The last thing we did was to finally replace the old screen on the carport bathroom. we now have a shiny new white screen door to replace the old brown one. It was the final piece of the bathroom update out there. Exciting right!?

IMG_2625

The Plants

We have our first papayas from our papaya trees! It took less than a year from seed to fruit – the trees are probably 9 or 10 feet tall now. We are finally able to be fruit GIVERS instead of takers. Seriously, we have more papaya than we can eat – and we can eat a lot of papaya. Here are our first 3 that we harvested. Both trees have a lot more where that came from.

IMG_2610

The rest of the plants are also doing well – with the exception of the lime tree – it isn’t really growing, its just kind of sitting there. Both the orange and tangerine trees have had their spring growth spurt and are looking good. The pineapples are growing but haven’t shown any fruit yet, and the avocado tree is COVERED with avocados. That’s a lot of guacamole on the branch!

Work

Work is keeping me very busy. It looks like one of my projects will be extended for 3 or 4 more months as some requirements have changed, so that’s good for me – but I am also a little disappointed that we will miss the deadline that we set up for the end of this month. My other clients have kept me busy with some custom programming projects and have had me waking up in the middle of the night thinking about solutions to nagging programming issues. My geek certification has been re-upped for the foreseeable future. My beach visits have taken a hit in favor of keeping hot on the programming trail but I’m sure I will catch up on those on the weekends.

Barb is on summer break so work is going GREAT for her.

The New House Project

We have contracted with a friend and neighbor of ours who just happens to be a home designer. So the house plans are under way! We have decided to have him design in an ADU (additional dwelling unit) for a couple of different reasons: Our plan is to build the ADU first and move in to that unit while the main house is being built, This will give us a place to live and make it easier to sell our current home while the main home is being built. It will also give us a source of income once we move into the main house as we can rent it out. That’s the plan and we will see what roadblocks await us…

Fun Stuff

Yes, there is actually fun stuff happening here too! We have been driving up to Hanalei on the North Side every couple of weeks. It’s just beautiful up there and hanging at Hanalei Bay is the best. We’ve also had the opportunity to get together with some of our friends form the North and East sides and that is always a great time.

This week we met with a couple of friends of my sister who were visiting the island. We were able to meet them and have a couple of dinners and had a really great time. We hope to keep in touch and see them again soon.

The Weather

Rainy and sunny, rainy and sunny. The weather has been great in my opinion: plenty of rain and plenty of sun and a green, green island!

The Band

We have 3 gigs next week. One at the Hilton in Wailua and 2 parties on Saturday. So I’m keeping busy with that too, what with learning new songs and such.

Politics

Haha. Not even going there! It’s my kuleana to keep this light and fun.

IMG_2627

Tags: , ,

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

