Twists and Turns in Paradise

I haven’t written for awhile (again) but a lot has been going on so I’m finally ready to throw an update out there.

When last we left our intrepid subjects (Barb and I), they had purchased some land with a great view and the idea of building our dream home on it. The rub was that construction has gone bonkers out here and it is very difficult to find a contractor to build a house any time soon (particularly in our ridiculously low price range). So the land is back up for sale. It’s a beautiful lot, but circumstances have conspired to make it worth our while to put it back on the market.

What then, are those circumstances? Wellllllllllll as Barbara was perusing the Aloha Living realty site (as she is wont to do) she came upon a home that was for sale for a reasonable price – and that was close to where we already live. The house has a small pool, a great 800 + square foot lanai and a “protected view corridor” that assures us of an unobstructed ocean view. Sweet. The home itself could use some updating inside, but we are pretty handy and it will keep us busy and out of trouble for a few years haha.

But nothing is ever easy. So we set out to procure this property and put our current house on the market. In the meantime we applied for a loan. But because I am a sole proprietor of my business and it has only been full time for a little less than 2 years, the banks cast a jaundiced eye on us. Not to mention we still have the land that we are paying on. Fortunately we have a great mortgage broker and realtor who have both helped to guide us through this touch and go process. Of course the loan is not fully approved yet so that is still a stressor.

As far as selling our current house, we received an offer the first day on the market. It’s a great little house in a nice neighborhood, and perfect for a young family (which is who made the offer). We definitely have had some ups and downs during the negotiating process (I’m trying to be PC here!), but it appears that we are finally close to being on our way. The next step on both deals will be the home appraisals – we feel pretty confident that the house we are selling will appraise for the price, but we are a little worried about the one we are buying (which could be advantageous if it comes in a little under the sale price, as we may have to pay less). That appraisal should be getting scheduled today.

Needless to say, this has pretty much been the only thing that we have been thinking about for the last month and has dominated our lives. Quite a few sleepless nights. But I feel like we are finally making progress. This weekend we are going to do some touristy stuff and try to get our heads straight and remind ourselves why we live here.

In other D & B island news, my band has a Halloween gig lined up and we are rehearsing with an eye towards that. It’s an annual thing and will be my second time doing it, so I’m looking forward to it. The jobs continue on. I have had a reprieve from my constant travel but have been very busy with work anyway. All good. Barb continues her work at the Middle School – I’m not sure I could deal with hormonal teenagers the way she can, so kudos to her! I am positive there is a whole bunch of stuff I left out, but I couldn’t tell you what it is, so I’ll just wrap this up.

Short and sweet. Aloha and…

Wish us luck!!!!!!

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

Leave a Reply

