The Circle of Life and a move up the hill

The last 3 months have been a trying leg of our journey here in Kauai and for life in general. During this time, we have bought and sold homes, sold our land, moved and saw my father lose his battle with cancer. They say that sometimes you are given as much as you can bear in life and it seems that lately that has been put to the test. But even then I didn’t have to shoulder as much burden as others have. So sometimes I feel that I need to buck up and just get on with it.

My Father

My father, Donald, passed away on December 20th. He was 82. He had been fighting a losing battle with a recurrence of his lymphoma for the last nine months or so and finally succumbed to it. End of life is never easy on anyone and particularly on my brother, Steven,  and mother, Judith,  who were the primary caregivers during this time. They never wavered and gave him the great care that he deserved. I was fortunate that my business travel took me to the mainland monthly and so I was at least able to see him frequently during the last year. 

My father was great provider and father and I am comforted by the fact that he was able to retire early and live his life as he wanted to. He was an avid and long-suffering San Diego sports fan. (And anyone who has followed the Padres and Chargers can understand what I mean by that). There are too many other interests that he had to list here and I won’t even try. But there will be a hole in my life where he once stood. Enough said.

The rest of the stuff….

The last 3 months of attempting to buy and sell a home on Kauai has been the most challenging real estate transaction I have ever been involved in. The timing of the moves and the back and forth with the banks etc. was a seemingly never ending roller coaster of emotion and delay. It was like slagging through quicksand at a lot of times, but we are finally in the new house and it is officially ours. The view is incredible but the house needs a LOT of work so we are ready to get going on that. 

I won’t go into too much detail here because I want to devote a separate post to the house stuff.  Going forward, this blog will detail the progress of our Kauai Fixer Upper. There will be lots of before and after pictures so stay tuned.

To close, I would like wish everyone a Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah, and send my hope that you and all you loved ones have a great holiday season and New Year.

Aloha!!!! 

About akiva96

I lived in Southern California my entire life - until my wife, Barbara, and I decided to quit our jobs and move to Hawai'i in April of 2015.

One response to “The Circle of Life and a move up the hill”

  1. Loralei Baldwin says :

    Sorry to hear about your Dad, still have fond memories of “horse races” around the living room at the house on Ruthallen St. He was always good to me.

Leave a Reply

